Iridiums, Orbview and the Parallel Pass

Mir16609@aol.com
Thu, 5 Nov 1998 21:49:49 EST

Hello Everyone.

Two more points for Rob Matson:
Iridium 11:  18:50:44 EST (23:50:44 UTC; 5 November)
Iridium 14:  19:15:40 EST (00:15:40 UTC; 6 November)
For both of these passes I never acquired either object with my 12x50s.  I
just waited for the flashes to go to negative magnitude and visible at 1x.

Orbview 1 (Microlab 1, 23547) flared to about a +2.5 mag for about 10 seconds
at 18:24:00 EST (23:24:00 UTC; 5 November). It shortly returned to the
predicted 7.0 mag.

Irid 82 Delta Rk (25472) made a nice 1x pass overhead at 18:31 EST  (23:31
UTC). The magnitude was about +1.5.   

Lace (20496) went 1x (~3.0 mag) for about 15 seconds at 18:26:30 EST (23:26:30
UTC).

This evening's parallel pass was just slightly out of my field of view for my
12x50s.  Meteor 2-5 Rk (11608) was about a 4.0 mag, Meteor 1-21 (7714) was
about a 5.0.   

Cheers
Don Gardner
Homepage: http://hometown.aol.com/mir16609/
76.8419 W, 39.1796 N,  34m ASL